Flood contributions recognised in Queensland Clarion Awards

Laurie Oakes

Laurie Oakes, noted for his generosity as a mentor to generations of younger journalists.

On Saturday night, some of the team from Esri Australia’s Brisbane office joined more than 350 representatives from Queensland’s media, government and business communities to celebrate the best of Queensland journalism.

The Clarion Walkley Award Gala  is Queensland journalism’s ‘night of nights’.

Many of this year’s award recipients were journalists who covered the Queensland floods – an event that left a lasting impact with us all.

Esri Australia provided pro bono support to the Brisbane City Council during the floods – by way of developing the predictive Brisbane City Council Flood Map that the council later released to the public. The Clarions were an opportunity to celebrate the media’s role throughout this crisis.

As a major sponsor of the event, we had the honour of presenting one of the awards – the Best Online Journalism award – which Esri Australia’s Media Liaison Alicia Stumm presented to ABC News Online team for their story “Queensland floods: Before and After Interactive”. A well deserved win and a truly moving piece of journalism.

Queensland’s media gave Tony Koch its top honour of the night, with the Clarion award for Most Outstanding Contribution. Koch, who retired from The Australian’s Brisbane bureau in June this year, is a five-time Walkley winner. Laurie Oakes, who presented the award (and was also seated at our table), also noted for his generosity as a mentor to generations of younger journalists.

We were also interested to see ABC Radio National and Local Radio’s Annie Guest acknowledged with an award for Broadcast for her piece, “Insurers Back Council Flood Maps” – an issue that we are sure to hear more about in the coming few months.

It was a great night boasting with the cream of the crop of Queensland’s journalism community – we look forward to attending the National Walkley Awards in November!

Congratulations again to all the evening’s winners.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s