5 minutes with Esri Australia’s Training Coordinator

Meet Isabel Duncan – Esri Australia’s Training Coordinator. Isabel has been in the role for four months – and has already worked closely with many of our users on their training needs. To give you a little more insight into Isabel, she spent five minutes in the hot seat, answering all our questions.

IsabelDuncan

Tell us about your role as the Esri Australia Training Coordinator – what are you responsible for?

Isabel Duncan: I assist in the organisation of over 250 scheduled training courses and 100 client exclusive training courses throughout the year. This involves: advising customers of the next step in their current training pathway based on their knowledge level; organising client exclusive courses for organisations; and, managing the logistics and enrolments of weekly scheduled training courses.

What do you love most about your job?

ID: I enjoy communicating with our users and assisting them with their future training requirements. Training is valuable to all Esri software users because once they understand all of the features the software provides, they will get the most value out of the product.

How did you end up at Esri? What’s your career background?

ID: I have been in marketing for the past seven years but wanted to change to a role that was more interactive with customers. I have a strong customer service and communications background and was lucky enough to be accepted into this role.

What’s the coolest thing you’ve learned since being in this role?

ID: You can map anything! In the past I have used the traditional road maps when travelling and never comprehended that it can be expanded further than this. I was wrong!

What’s your advice to clients considering undertaking some training?

ID: Not only do we have multiple courses available, but we also offer a range of delivery options – so I encourage everyone to read our online summary on each course and decide which course is best for you, or if you would like a customised or scheduled training session. If you are still unsure, contact us and we will answer any questions you may have.

What Esri training course would you like to undertake – and why?

ID: I am new to the GIS world, so would like to start at the beginning. I’m currently enrolled in ArcGIS I: Introduction to GIS and will work my way up from there.

Outside of work – what’s your idea of fun?

ID: I have a hospitality background and I’m a foodie. I love cooking and eating out, so try to do one or the other as often as possible. My favourite restaurant so far is a toss-up between The Fat Duck in the UK and Momofuku, Seiōbo in Sydney.

What’s one thing people don’t know about you?

ID: I studied Economics for six months in Castellanza, a town outside of Milan (Italy) and worked for nine months in Lier (Belgium) selling Australian wine. Both were amazing experiences.

At Esri Australia – we’re all about geography! So where’s your favourite destination in the world?

ID: This is a tough one as I love travelling. I can’t decide upon one favourite destination, so I have two.

Japan: the county and food is spectacular and the Japanese history is fascinating. While we were there, we climbed Mount Fuji, which was an accomplishment for me, and watched the sunrise at approximately 3,000 meters above sea level – just stunning

Florence: I studied in Italy for six months and took every opportunity I had to travel to Florence. The vibe is electric and the people are beautiful – happy to help and give advice on the best spots to eat and visit.

Sally H

Leave a Reply

